Other books
by Marian Van Eyk McCain ...

"A book of profound insights, at once inspiring and practical. It shows an elegant way out of the consumerist lifestyle of the
modern world"  
- Satish Kumar,
Editor, Resurgence Magazine
For many years, Marian has been a devotee of the simple life.
And now, in these days of rapid climate change, and looming ecological crisis, downshifting to a way of life that takes only our share of the world's resources and causes minimal pollution  is something that all of us need to do if our planet is to become healthy again.

It is not always easy to do that.
But Marian's book,
'THE LILYPAD LIST: 7 steps to the simple life'
will show you how.

ISBN: 184409037X

paperback, 160 pages
Findhorn Press, 2004

A Cygnus Book Club member from London had this to say about
'The Lilypad List':

‘I urge everyone to buy and read this wonderful book and give it to a friend. I have read a wide range of spiritual, self-development and ecological books. This one simple but comprehensive book sums them all up. The author writes from a wealth of knowledge, experience and wisdom. Her aim is not to make us feel guilty about our current lifestyle; rather, she helps us understand why we behave as we do and work out how we can change to benefit ourselves and the wider environment. The Lilypad List is inspiring and practical as well as warmly and amusingly written. It is the ideal handbook for anyone who wants to live a simpler, less stressful life in the 21st century.’

To read an excerpt from 'The Lilypad List', click here
(you will need Acrobat Reader)

The Lilypad List has its own website. If you would like to read more reviews, find out about the artist whose lovely pictures of frogs illustrate the text, or learn more about simple living, go to www.lilypadlist.com

For more information about Marian's two other books on green topics:

 'GreenSpirit: Path to a New Consciousness '


'Downshifting Made Easy: How to plan for your planet-friendly future'

...and her latest book:

Self-Therapy Made Easy

just click on their titles.

Now, for fiction fans ...

Marian also writes fiction. Her short stories have been published in a number of magazines and some have won prizes in competitions.

One of her stories, entitled 'Waiting a While for Greeneyes' has been published in booklet form by Leaf Books, of Glamorgan, Wales. Click here for details.

In 2006, she published a collection of short stories under the title 'Apricot Harvest'. . .
"From the dry outback of Australia to the green dampness of rural England, these stories will take you around the world and through years and centuries of time. They will take you, too, to the edge of mystery and into the deeper recesses of intimate relationship. Many might set you thinking. Some will make you smile."
. . . and in 2009, she published her first, full-length novel, 'The Bird Menders'.

"...a tender love story, a story of healing, the mending of broken wings and the wisdom of women in the second half of their lives."

You can read a whole lot more about 'The Bird Menders' - including the cause to which the royalties are donated  - by clicking here

Purchase details for all of Marian's books can be found on the book-buying page.
(click on the gold button to go there)

Elderwoman home page Who is the elderwoman? What is she like? 'The other side of the mountain' grandmother's footprint about the rose hips about Marian
'Elderwoman' book menopause book other books by Marian buy a book contact Marian links and resources Marian's blog